REGRESSION (2015) Overview



‘Fear will always find its victim’

Regression is a 2015 American-Spanish psychological thriller film directed, produced and written by Alejandro Amenábar (Thesis; Open Your Eyes; The Others).

The movie stars Ethan Hawke (Taking Lives; Daybreakers; Sinister), Emma Watson, David Dencik and David Thewlis (The Island of Doctor Moreau; Basic Instinct 2; The Omen).

Minnesota, 1990. Detective Bruce Kenner (Ethan Hawke) investigates the case of 17-year-old Angela (Emma Watson), who accuses her father, John Gray (David Dencik), of carnally abusing her. When John unexpectedly and without recollection admits guilt, renowned psychologist Dr Raines (David Thewlis) is brought in to help him relive his memories and what they discover unmasks a horrifying nationwide mystery involving satanism…


Cast and characters:

  • Ethan Hawke … Detective Bruce Kenner
  • Emma Watson … Angela Gray
  • David Dencik … John Gray
  • David Thewlis … Professor Kenneth Raines
  • Devon Bostick … Roy Gray
  • Dale Dickey … Rose Gray
  • Aaron Ashmore … George Nesbitt
  • Lothaire Bluteau … Reverend Murray
  • Adam Butcher … Brody
  • Kristian Bruun … Andrew
  • Aaron Abrams … Farrell
  • Peter MacNeill … Cleveland


Regression was originally scheduled for an August 28, 2015 release in the US, but was pushed to December 31, 2015. The film was released in Spain on October 2, 2015 and UK on October 9, 2015.



New and future releases