LIFE (2017) Overview



‘We were better off alone’

Life is a 2017 American science fiction horror feature film directed by Daniel Espinosa from a screenplay by Rhett Reese and Paul Wernick (Zombieland and sequel). The film stars Jake Gyllenhaal, Rebecca Ferguson and Ryan Reynolds.


A crew aboard the International Space Station perform a successful capture of a space probe returning from Mars with a sample inside. The crew is tasked with studying the sample, which may be the first proof of extraterrestrial life.

However, the study eventually backfires as the organism gains intelligence. Trapped aboard the ISS with the rapidly-growing organism, the crew must find out how to kill it before it manages to escape and decimate Earth.


Life was released on March 24, 2017 by Columbia Pictures.

Cast and characters:

  • Hiroyuki Sanada … Sho Murakami
  • Ryan Reynolds … Rory Adams
  • Rebecca Ferguson … Miranda North
  • Jake Gyllenhaal … David Jordan
  • Olga Dykhovichnaya … Ekaterina Golovkina (as Olga Dihovichnaya)
  • Ariyon Bakare … Hugh Derry
  • Jesus Del Orden … Student 2
  • Allen McLean … Student 1
  • Leila Grace … Student 3 (as Leila Grace Bostwick-Riddell)
  • Mari Gvelesiani … Student 4
  • David Muir … 20 / 20 Anchor
  • Elizabeth Vargas … 20 / 20 Anchor
  • Camiel Warren-Taylor … Dominique
  • Haruka Kuroda … Doctor
  • Naoko Mori … Kazumi