LAST NIGHT IN SOHO (2021) First trailer released


Last Night in Soho is a forthcoming British “straight-up psychological horror thriller” directed by Edgar Wright (The World’s End; Hot Fuzz; Shaun of the Dead). Wright and Krysty Wilson-Cairns (Penny Dreadful) co-wrote the screenplay.

Wright has commented: “I realised I had never made a film about central London – specifically Soho, somewhere I’ve spent a huge amount of time in the last twenty-five years. With Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead you make movies about places you’ve lived in. This movie is about the London I’ve existed in.”

The movie stars Anya Taylor-Joy (The New Mutants; Morgan), Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie (Leave NoTrace), Matt Smith (Morbius; Charlie Says; Doctor Who), Michael Ajao (Attack the Block), Synnøve Karlsen, Diana Rigg (Theatre of Blood), Terence Stamp (Crow; Link) and Rita Tushingham (Straight on Till Morning). The film was co-financed by Focus Features and Film4. Wright is co-producing with Nira Park, Tim Bevan, and Eric Fellner.

Wright recently told Empire “It will feel very different to my other films. But I’ve always liked films which have a slow burn into something else, and a lot of my movies have that feeling.”

He continued, “Last Night starts in a more psychological realm and then starts to get increasingly intense as it goes along. And I always like to gravitate towards making a film in genres I miss, and there’s a certain type of psychological horror film that you got more in the ‘60s and ‘70s, that have something of an operatic nature. I’m using that kind of visual grammar.”


Last Night in Soho was due to have its theatrical debut in the USA on 25th September 2020 but the pandemic meant that was cancelled. The film will now be released on October 22nd 2021 in the USA and 29th in the UK. Other countries will see a release around the same dates.

Edgar Wright’s last movie Baby Driver took an impressive $227 million worldwide at the box office.

Cast and confirmed characters:

Anya Taylor-Joy … Sandy
Jessie Mei Li … Lara
Matt Smith … Jack
Diana Rigg … Miss Collins
Thomasin McKenzie … Eloise
Terence Stamp
Lisa McGrillis
James Phelps … Harvis
Oliver Phelps … Jarvis
Rita Tushingham … Peggy Turner
Synnove Karlsen … Jocasta
Margaret Nolan
Andrew Bicknell … Pointer
Michael Jibson … Detective
Michael Ajao