Starship Troopers: Traitor of Mars is a 2017 Japanese/American animated science fiction horror film directed by Shinji Aramaki and Masaru Matsumoto from a screenplay written by Edward Neumeier (RoboCop; Starship Troopers movies). It features the voices of Casper Van Dien, Dina Meyer and DeRay Davis.

The movie is the fifth entry in the Starship Troopers franchise and a sequel to Starship Troopers: Invasion (2012, also animated).

General Johnny Rico (Casper Van Dien) is demoted and relocated to a satellite station on Mars, while the Federation moves to attack the home planet of the bugs. However, Mars just so happens to be the target of a secret bug attack at the same time and it falls to Rico and a group of new recruits to keep the planet safe while the Federation’s fleet is far out of reach…

Development and news of the animated film, made to coincide with the 20th anniversary of the release of the first film, happened rather discreetly. The film was released by Sony on August 21, 2017, for one-night-only, via Fathom Events.

Meanwhile, a proposed remake/reboot of the original 1997 film has been announced several times.

Cast and characters:

  • Casper Van Dien as General Johnny Rico
  • Dina Meyer as Isabelle “Dizzy” Flores
  • DeRay Davis as One-Oh-One

MOVIES and MANIA provides previews of new films, our own movie reviews/ratings, and links to other reviews from trustworthy recommended sources - all in one handy web location. Plus, links to legitimately watch 1000s OF MOVIES FREE ONLINE via platforms such as Amazon Prime, Plex, Roku, Tubi and on YouTube. As an Amazon Associate, we earn a very tiny amount from any qualifying purchases.    
Visitor rating! What do you think of this movie? Click on a star to rate it

Discover more from MOVIES and MANIA

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.