PHIR WOHI RAAT “Same Night Again” (1980) overview of Indian horror


PHIR WOHI RAAT [“Same Night Again”] is an Indian Hindi horror feature film about a young woman who has nightmares that she is being attacked.

Directed by actor Danny Denzongpa – who also co-stars – the Prithvi Pictures production stars Rajesh Khanna, Kim, Aruna Irani and Tamanna. The soundtrack score was composed by prolific Rahul Dev Burman [as R.D. Burman] (Bhoot Bungla).


Psychiatrist Doctor Vijay (Rajesh Khanna) is in love with Asha (Kim), a beautiful young woman. He is stunned when another doctor refers Asha to him, as she has been having hallucinations and nightmares about an insane-looking woman who comes to attack her and choke her to death. Vijay hypnotises Asha and is successful in allaying her fears.

Asha, her friend, Shobha, and Vijay travel to her residence out in the countryside to celebrate her birthday. Soon after, Asha sees a grotesque woman, quite different from the one she has been having nightmares about, walking in the hallway of her house, but whose motive is also the same – her death…

Cast and characters:

  • Rajesh Khanna … Doctor Vijay
  • Kim … Asha
  • Aruna Irani … Shobha
  • Tamanna … Gouri
  • Shashikala … Insane aunty
  • Danny Denzongpa … Ashok
  • A.K. Hangal … Vishwanath
  • Suresh Oberoi … Inspector Sharma
  • Lalita Pawar … Hostel warden
  • Om Shivpuri … Doctor Desai
  • Shubha Khote … Shobha’s sister
  • Jagdeep … Krupachand Reswani
  • Mukri … Drunk
  • Master Bhagwan … Gendamal (as Bhagwan)
  • Mohan Choti … Krupachand’s friend
  • Birbal
  • Madhu Malhotra … Ghost
  • Shashi Kiran
  • Manmauji
  • R. Sinha
  • Prakash
  • Lalita Kumari … Irate parent
  • Brahm Bhardwaj … School administrator
  • Ranjit Sood … (as Ranjeet Sood)
  • Jugni
  • Chand Usmani
  • Moolchand
  • Gopal Saigal
  • Miss Sapna
  • Ashish … Shobha’s nephew (as Master Ashish)
  • Master Vikas … Shobha’s nephew (as Master Vikar)
  • Master Chirag … Shobha’s nephew

Technical details:

  • 146 minutes
  • Audio: Mono